ANU logo Picture of ANU Picture of ANU Picture of ANU Picture of ANU


Vice Chancellor

Professor Brian Schmidt AC
 facebook-small twitter-small youtube-small.png linkedin-small.png

Campus locations

  • Main Campus (Acton)
  • Canberra Hospital, Clinical School
  • Kioloa Coast Campus
  • Mt Stromlo Observatory
  • North Australia Research Unit
  • Siding Spring Observatory


The Australian National University (ANU) is a world-leading university situated in the centre of Canberra.

ANU was founded by the Australian Government in 1946 with a mission to stand among the great universities of the world.

The University is a key contributor to public policy formation and debate, a celebrated place of intensive research and is renowned for excellence in undergraduate and post graduate education. ANU has strong ties to the nation’s policy makers and sets the standard on issues of national and international importance. ANU is led by Nobel Laureate Professor Brian P. Schmidt AC.

The University is consistently ranked among the best universities in the world.

In 2015, 95 per cent of broad-fields research at ANU were rated above or well above world standard by the Australian Government’s Excellence in Research for Australia initiative. ANU is ranked 24th in the world and top in Australia in the 2019 QS World University Rankings.

ANU scholars shape debate and extend knowledge in new and profound directions, nationally and globally. ANU works closely with other Australian national institutions, research organisations, foreign ministries and the Australian Parliament.

The University is home to more than 25,000 students, with almost half studying at the postgraduate level. ANU attracts people from around the world, with roughly one quarter of its students coming from overseas. ANU graduates go on to take up leadership positions in government, industry, research and academia, at home and abroad.

ANU is Australia’s only member of the International Alliance of Research Universities (IARU). The alliance of leading research and teaching institutions shares a global vision, with a focus on research-led teaching, educating future leaders and tackling some of this century’s biggest challenges.

The main ANU campus is situated on 145 hectares of parklands in the centre of Canberra. Facilities include on-campus accommodation in a range of residential styles, modern laboratories and lecture theatres, and five main libraries.