FedUni logo.jpg
Picture of Federation University Australia
Picture of Federation University Australia
Picture of Federation University Australia

Picture of Federation University Australia

Helen Bartlett.jpg

Vice-Chancellor and 


Professor Helen Bartlett
 facebook-small twitter-small youtube-small.png

Campus locations

  • Ballarat - Mt Helen
  • Ballarat - SMB
  • Ballarat - Arts
  • Berwick
  • Brisbane
  • Gippsland
  • Wimmera


Federation University Australia (FedUni) has a strong tradition of education and training delivery spanning nearly 150 years. We are the nation’s first regional, multi-sector university and the third oldest site of higher learning in Australia.

FedUni offers an increasing number of higher education, TAFE, secondary schooling and research opportunities. With campuses in Ballarat, Berwick, Brisbane, Gippsland and the Wimmera, our programs are also delivered online and via a range of partner institutes across Australia and around the globe. A student support centre is also based in Malaysia.

The University has around 20,000 international and domestic students. We are committed to serving regional Victorian communities, yet have a broad national and international outlook. We offer the best of both worlds; combining a strong tradition of tertiary education with the freedom and dynamism that comes with being a multi-sector university with close links to local industry and technology.

FedUni is recognised as a welcoming and friendly university for international students. We place great emphasis on the quality of our teaching and learning, delivering a range of innovative programs through both our higher education and vocational education and training.

According to the Federal Government’s Quality Indicators for Learning and Teaching rankings (QILT), FedUni ranks number one in Victoria for overall employment and median salary.

The University also has a growing research presence. Our sports science programs have been placed highly in prestigious international rankings.

We host Australia’s largest regional technology park accommodating more than 30 companies, including its signature tenant, IBM. The University’s Tech Park Central in the heart of Ballarat enables businesses to have a presence at our SMB Campus.

The University also runs the Nanya Environmental Research Station in Western New South Wales.

Proud of its past while firmly focused on the future, student-centred and commercially capable, Federation University Australia continues to excel.