UND Logo.jpg
Picture of the University of Notre Dame Australia
Picture of the University of Notre Dame Australia
Picture of the University of Notre Dame Australia
Picture of the University of Notre Dame Australia

Picture of the University of Notre Dame Vice-Chancellor


Professor Celia Hammond

Campus locations

  • Fremantle
  • Sydney
  • Broome


The University of Notre Dame Australia is a distinctive national Catholic university that hosts more than 11,000 students across its three campuses in Fremantle, Broome and Sydney, and its seven clinical schools in New South Wales and Victoria. 

According to the Federal Government’s Quality Indicators for Learning and Teaching, Notre Dame is a leading university in Perth and Sydney with the highest results for the following indicators: Overall Quality of Educational Experience, Student Support, Learner Engagement, Teaching Quality, Graduate Employment Rate and Skills Development (1st in Australia). Notre Dame also achieved 5-star ratings in The Good Universities Guide 2017 for the 10th consecutive year. 

“Students are at the heart of Notre Dame. We have always sought to educate the whole person, to provide an environment where students have the opportunity to develop the theoretical knowledge and the technical skills they need to pursue their chosen professions, yet also to grow and flourish as individuals,” says Notre Dame’s Vice Chancellor, Professor Celia Hammond.

This approach is also reflected in the University’s unique admission process which is based not only upon one’s academic record but also incorporates the student’s personal qualities, motivation to study, potential to succeed and contribution to school, church or community life. 

Notre Dame’s operations are based upon its legislated Objects:
a) the provision of university education, within a context of Catholic faith and values; and
b) the provision of an excellent standard of –
i. teaching, scholarship and research;
ii. training for the professions; and
iii. pastoral care for its students. 

Undergraduate, postgraduate and higher research degrees are offered through the University’s nine academic Schools: Arts & Sciences, Business, Education, Law, Health Sciences, Medicine, Nursing & Midwifery, Physiotherapy and Philosophy & Theology. Notre Dame is also home to three leading research institutes – Nulungu Research Institute, The Institute for Health Research and the Institute for Ethics & Society. 

Notre Dame’s courses are taught by leaders in the fields and include mentoring and internship programs so students gain real-world experience while making professional contacts. 

Students apply direct to the University. Visit notredame.edu.au