Universities Australia was established on 22 May 2007 as the peak body representing the university sector and replaced the Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee (AVCC).

The AVCC dates back to May 1920, when Vice-Chancellors at Australia's then six universities met in Sydney and established a committee and secretariat. The Review of the AVCC in 2006 recommended the establishment of Universities Australia to represent Australia's universities.

Universities Australia is funded by annual contributions from member universities. Plenary meetings are held four times a year to discuss policy matters of topical interest.

For more information regarding policy and advocacy work undertaken by the AVCC, please see our publications archive.